Assignment 1 – Two sides of the story

This post, along with colour prints sent to my tutor, is my submission for Context and Narrative Assignment 1 – Two sides of the story.

The planning and research for this assignment, along with the assignment brief can be found here.

For this project I set out to create two sets of documentary images that inform the viewer, by documenting a sense of place. Each set of photographs is designed to show a different side of this place, leaving the viewer to decide for themselves which is the “real” version of the truth. The place in question is the Flitch Way, a bridleway/footpath that stretches from Bishops Stortford to Braintree, along a former railway line. The route is designated a Country Park and is managed by Essex County Council and a charitable organisation, the Friends of the Flitch Way.

In order to achieve the aim, I embraced my own subjective views of this route. Having gotten to know the subject well, I identified a single stretch of approximately 4 miles, from Great Dunmow to Rayne, in which to capture all of images. I was keen to confine the subject, for the sake of Integrity. It would have been far too easy to create conflicting stories with 16 miles of landscape to play with. Also, the stretch in question is close to my home, and is therefore closer to my heart.

I have attempted to create photographs that are documents in terms of their believability and accuracy, and that are aesthetically pleasing to look at and so will hold the viewers gaze and invite them to read into the images. But I’ve also tried to make sets that are polar opposites in terms of content. To do this, I have used available light and weather conditions to my advantage in order to create mood and connote meaning.

This is the Flitch Way……

No, this is the Flitch Way……

A self assessment for this assignment can be found here.

3 thoughts on “Assignment 1 – Two sides of the story

  1. Pingback: Assignment 1 – Self Assessment | My Learning (B)Log – Context and Narrative

  2. Great work! I only just found this but realised that my Assignment 1 was a little similar in concept to yours. I really like your ‘negative’ set, especially the sofa one – very strong image. Well done.

    Like

    • Thanks Rob, I really appreciate that. As we’re both at roughly the same point in the course, I’d love to follow your blog, but can’t seem to find a Follow button.

      I notice from your About page that your from North Yorkshire. Do you mind me asking where abouts? I’m from Harrogate but live and work in Essex. I’m moving to Ripon in Feb and can’t wait to get back to Yorkshire!

      Like

Leave a Reply

