The photograph as document – Project 3: Reportage – Exercise

Exercise

Find a street that particularly interests you – it may be local or further afield. Shoot 30 colour images and 30 black and white images in a street photography style.

In your learning log, comment on the differences between the two formats.

What difference does colour make? Which set do you prefer and why?

For this exercise I ventured into Cambridge city centre on pay-day weekend, 3 weeks before christmas. With the exception of some intermittent cloud, the weather was fine, providing a mix of contrasty hard light and diffuse soft light. The town centre was bustling with xmas shoppers which provided lots of interesting subjects for me to photograph.

Before heading out, I deliberated about how best to conduct the exercise. My initial thoughts were to shoot 30 images, and process them in both colour and b&w in order to provide a direct comparison. This idea was short lived, because when I photograph a subject, I tend to consider/plan how I want my final image to look before I compose my image and take my shot. To that end, I tend to take photographs specifically in colour, or in b&w. So that’s what I did. I went looking for found situations/subjects to photograpgh in one format or the other. I went slightly over the required amount, producing 35 colour images and 34 b&w images. Due to the sheer number of images, they have been uploaded at 60% quality in order to keep the size down.

Colour:

Black & White:

The differences between the 2 formats has been explored in the previous module (Art of Photography), but it can be summarised from my experiences whilst out shooting these images. I find that the colour set is more in the “here and now”. Colour can add a sense of time and place,  acting as a clue to the season or the time of day (warm or cool tones). It is also a recognisable marker from trends and fashions that are around at the time of shooting. Colour can be distracting or vulgar, but this in itself can either be, or compliment the subject. Colour can also be used as a method of communication, by connoting meanings or emotions (red = danger, anger etc).

The b&w set of images are more timeless. They emphasise form, shape and design. Portraits appear more revealing and personal in b&w, as we are drawn straight to the face, with little to distract us. Small details such as texture also become more apparent.

To answer the final question: I prefer both sets equally (that sounds like a cop-out doesn’t it?). Both sets have their unique qualities, and their place within contemporary photography. I also enjoy shooting in both formats equally. It is the photographers prerogative to use whichever format best communicates his desired message.

One thought on “The photograph as document – Project 3: Reportage – Exercise

  1. Pingback: Assignment 1 – Brainstorming | My Learning (B)Log – Context and Narrative

Leave a Reply

